The lime kiln was built around 1906, but limestone mining began as early as the 16th century.
A wooden bridge was built from the flint quarry so that the limestone could be poured into the high furnaces. In the 1930s, a branch of the Ķegums power line was pulled to the lime kiln and an electric limestone hoist was installed. The kiln did not suffer in World War II and resumed operations after the war.
Currently, the kiln is privately owned, it can be seen only from Venta or the nearest roads. Unfortunately, the kiln is a disappearing industrial heritage in Kurzeme.