The brewery in Cēsis was built in 1878 and was an integral part of the newly established Cēsis Castle Park. It was a distinct landmark of Cēsis for more than four hundred years. At present, it is a unique industrial heritage – the brewery premises reveal the traces and history of the 19th and 20th century. Since 2013, the owner and host of the premises is the NGO "Vides risinājumu institūts", which strives to turn it into the Science and Art Centre. The NGO organises various science, art and cultural events to enable visitors of the brewery be part of its transformation process.