The museum in Ādaži was launched in 1988, and is among the most significant water-supply museums in Europe. It tells the 400-years’ history of Riga urban water supply system, which dates back to the mid-17th century. At that time, a horse-driven pumping station and wooden pipeline system was established, and the city residents were supplied water directly from the River Daugava.
At the end of the 19th century, the system no longer met the needs of the city. In 1883, large amounts of good quality groundwater was discovered in Bukulti, Remberģi and Zaķumuiža areas. The groundwater extraction systems in Bukulti manor area, a pumping station facility near Lake Mazais Baltezers, and pipelines to supply the water to Riga were started to be built.
Baltezers water pumping facility was launched in 1904 and operated until 1950. The former water pumping machinery hall is now home to the Riga Water-Supply Museum. Compound-type steam machines, cast iron syphon ducts and penstocks, manufactured in Riga at the Felzer mechanical engineering factory, are preserved and exhibited. The steam boilers were manufactured in Riga at R.Pole mechanical engineering factory.