Āraiši Windmill was built to suit the needs of Drabeši manor, around mid-19th century. During its first reconstruction, a boulder bearing the inscription – ANNO 1852 – was found and assumed to be the year of its construction. By its structure, it is a Dutch type mill, since the mill has a rotating "head", called "cap". With a special mechanism, standing at the foot mill, the mill "head" was turned to the wind, to make it blow right into its wings. Once, the mill was a place to grind groats, as well as flour for black bread and animal feed. At present, the four floors of the windmill tell the how a grain is turned into flour, and offer a special grinder's meal made of barley groat and meat.