The museum was founded in 1954 as the Open-Air Museum of Sea Fishery. The first boats, residential and farming buildings of the fishermen, and the narrow-gauge railway train were brought to the future museum by its initiator and first director Andrejs Šulcs. The indoors exhibition tells about the key stages in the development of fishery – fishing various species of fish, building boats. A favourite entertainment and an educational activity at the museum is the narrow-gauge train, which runs on two lines – the 1.4 km long Riņķa Line and the 3.0 km long Kalna Line. Station buildings are copies of authentic buildings from railway lines in Kurzeme. In 2018, the exhibition was extended with the renovated Mazirbe Goods Shed, which is the only original building on the narrow-gauge railway exhibition. Outdoors, there is a collection of anchors with more than 140 different anchors, the eldest of which date back to the 18th century.