Station Paplaka (former name - Pleike) was opened in 1879, when a branch was built here on quarries to expand the port of Liepaja. In 1919, a new wooden building of the station was built, which operated during the first Latvian independence. The Paplaka station building was completely destroyed during the Priekule battles of World War II. In the post-war period, railway stations throughout the Soviet Union were renovated according to standard projects.1952 a new standard station building was built here as a small railway station building complex for 25 passengers.
Paplaka station building, which housed the waiting room, liaison and ticket office, as well as a one-room service apartment and other auxiliary buildings of the station - luggage (inventory) storage room, toilet (men's, women's with auxiliary equipment for inventory), heavy cargo loading / unloading ramp are available for public viewing from the outside, but a tour can be arranged upon request.
There are six buildings in the territory of the station, of which two houses with apartments for workers and the house of the head of the station. There is a small horse museum in the luggage storage room.
At present, Dzintra Blūma manages the Paplaka station and its surroundings with the activists of the sports association “Kanu atvars” and has already developed a rather exciting tourism offer.